It Has Been a Long Time….

Posted: February 8, 2015 in Uncategorized

Y’all know I can get started without giving my lil girl a plug. Please take a read of my oldest’s blog at http://maige23.wordpress.com/. Great inspirational reading from a young lady who brings it everyday. Now on to the reading.

Yup it has been a minute. There has been a ton load going on but I thank God that I am in a place to be able to take my views and place it here. So let me get started on a few views.

Boy did the President fire up everyone with his comments at the National Prayer Breakfast. Yup, that is the way to fire ’em up!!!! Compare ISIS to the Crusades. I read the text of his speech and I do understand where he is coming from in his comparison. We Christians tend to get nervous when the faith is put on blast like that but can we take a larger look at the situation at hand? (This is the part of the conversation where I am speaking to people with a functioning brain; one that is not spouting off stuff they heard on TV, the radio or some fringe piece on Facebook.) From a foreign policy stand point, what can the US do? I mean we are already leading a coalition in pinpoint airstrikes on known ISIS hangouts. But bombing can only do so much. The turning point I believe has happened with the Jordanian fighter pilot was burned alive, in a cage on live TV. Not only has that angered the people of Jordan, ISIS is now being isolated by most of the clerics, even the “off the reservation” ones. We, the US, are going to be able to help get rid of ISIS but it is going to take the people of the region; fellow Muslim brothers and sisters, to take back their sacred doctrine. Islam could be at the edge of a cliff, setting up for a fall that it can never recover from. It is worth watching how the people react and how things go. But as Americans, we won’t. We will do what we normally do and debate about trivial things like if restaurant workers should wash their hands or not.

Some personal thoughts. 2015 has brought my household to a very interesting place. Being in corporate America, I thank God every day for my job. It gets tough to continue to work at a company that easily throw people’s’ jobs away. Yet I am still here. I am starting to really see that maybe, just maybe, becoming a free agent may be the best thing for my family. I mean, in my 19 years, I have lost, read that, lost salary. Due to cuts and lack of raises, I now get paid like someone 5 years on the job instead of 19. This has thrown me for a loop. So in the midst of my confusion, I lay all this down to the Lord to guide my steps. This year is going to be exciting and big. I just have to have the stomach, faith and testicular fortitude to trust God in what direction He takes me. More on this later.

This is just my .02 cents. Have a great week.

Leave a comment